A Fund of

The Jim Omohundro Courageous Leadership Award was established by Ryan Omohundro in honor of his father Jim Omohundro. The scholarship benefits graduating seniors of Eastwood High School Track & Field/ Cross Country programs who have demonstrated high achievement in both athletics and academics.

Ryan's father, Jim Omohundro, was a Police Officer with the El Paso Police Department from 1974 to 1982. During his time on the EPPD, he suffered major injuries twice, in the line of duty, and underwent several surgeries and medical procedures – ultimately leading to medical retirement at the age of 30. Always a hard worker, and with his very outgoing personality, he eventually took the courageous leap to become an entrepreneur/business owner, opening his own construction company:  J. Omohundro Construction, Inc. Jim boldly ran his construction company and helped raise his family, while still dealing with medical challenges, numerous surgeries and hospitalizations, and debilitating pain - until his untimely passing in 1997.

Following the passing of his father his freshman year, Ryan became a devoted distance runner – inspired by the accomplishment of pushing through mental and physical boundaries – individually, and more importantly, as a team. He graduated as Valedictorian from EHS in 2001 and was a four-year letterman on the Track and Cross-Country teams. 

Sprinters, endurance runners, team leaders, student-athletes, and community volunteers all embody one common trait – courage.  To honor Jim’s legacy and to recognize the accomplishment of exemplary acts of our courageous leadership from the Eastwood Running Club student-athletes on and off the track, Ryan and his family established this annual scholarship award.


Tangible personal property. Examples may be real estate, oil, gas, or mineral interests.

Planned Gifts

Bequests, appreciated securities, life insurance, retirement plans, and charitable remainder trusts, and more.


2023 Jim Omohundro Courageous Leadership Award Recipients

Kaira Joseph

Salma Licon

Joaquin Chavez

2022 Jim Omohundro Courageous Leadership Award Recipients

Lauren Walls-Portillo - The University of Texas at Arlington

Andres Gurrola- The University of Texas at Arlington

Adalia Olmos- Pacific Lutheran University

Eastwood High School: Track & Field and Cross Country Accomplishments, 2002-2021

Eastwood Track & Field and Cross Country programs, led by coaches Mike McLain and Jimmy Ayala, have cultivated a culture of dedication, teamwork, and excellence – individual contributions by courageous leaders that culminate in overall team success. 

Cross Country Achievements

Boys Cross Country - Undefeated 11 years in a row.

Only El Paso Cross Country Program to be ranked nationally in the top 35 teams 11 years in a row.

Only El Paso Cross Country Program to be ranked nationally among the top 25 teams four times.

Only school and sport in the division 5A and 6A schools to achieve five years in a row of podium finishes at State.

Two State team titles.

27 Varsity District titles between girls and boy cross country programs since 2005.

Track and Field Achievements

11 District titles since 2005.

13 State qualifiers, 4 medalists, and 1 State champion since 2005.

District Titles

Boys- 2010, 2011

3rd place Regionals- 2005

Girls- 2006, 2007, 2015,2017,2018,2019,2020

Related News