May 24, 2022

Deby Lewis Foundation Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

The Deby Lewis Foundation, a fund of the Paso del Norte Community Foundation, is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the Deby Lewis Foundation Scholarship.

Nine graduating high school seniors from Eastwood High School were selected and welcomed to a surprise party at Eastwood High School this May to commemorate their awards.

“We are so thankful to all the hard-working students and look forward to watching their continued success", says Juni Mathews, former Eastwood High School Principal and friend of Deby Lewis. “These scholarships will forever remain a part of Deby’s legacy and her dedication to education.”

The 2022 scholarship recipients include:

  • Samara Aguilera, The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Alexis Amaya, The University of Texas at El Paso
  • Arnas Budreckis, The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Sophia Gallegos, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Andrew Martinez, Sul Ross State University
  • Liliana Navar, Tarleton State University
  • Megan Padilla, Texas A&M University
  • Raymond Reyes, The University of Texas at El Paso and Austin
  • Isabella Smith, Texas A&M University

The Deby Lewis Foundation is a volunteer-led nonprofit organization established in 2016 to honor and memorialize the extraordinary legacy of Deby Lewis, who dedicated her life to the education of students at Eastwood High School and Ysleta Independent School District.

Learn more about the Deby Lewis Foundation